Fitting the Tikit rear rack

There has been some discussion on the Bike Friday Yak list about the best way to fit the Tikit rear rack. I am not sure if this is the best way, but I found that in addition to the issue with the mudguard (fender) stay identified by other Tikit owners,  I had a second barrier to mounting the rack caused by the disc brake mechanism.

Rack mounted with mudguard secured to underside of rack

Rack mounted with mudguard secured to underside of rack

Leaving off the mudguard stays saves weight. OK not a lot, it is true. The appearance is not all it could be, but the guard still keeps the spray off. One day I may use a long spacer and bolt to get the guard closer to the tyre, but that would be for looks alone.

I am probably more concerned about the work-around used to get the rack to fit with the disc brake. I raised this with Bike Friday and they suggested a spacer, which they kindly provided with the rack. In the event I was able use a 10mm spacer.

View of rack stay and spacer

View of rack stay and spacer

But I am not entirely happy with this approach. The distance between the dropout and the stay has to be bad news. The weight of stuff on the rack creates a bending moment on the bolt. Fortunately the bag I use on the rack is quite small (only seven litres) so I am keeping my fingers crossed that this is a theoretical problem.

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Fitting the Tikit rear rack”

  1. thelazyrando Says:

    With a small bag you’ll be fine. With a proper touring load the bolt will fail.

    safe riding,

    Vik
    http://www.thelazyrando.com

Leave a Reply

